Chase Collegiate Holds 2020 Commencement Ceremony

July 31, 2020

The weather was perfect, slightly overcast and still cool on July 24th and while it was slightly different than in years past, the 152nd graduating class of Chase Collegiate School received their diplomas in traditional style and format. 

The Class of 2020, led by bagpiper Tim Wilk, processed to the South Porch of St. Margaret’s Hall where Jennifer Zembruski, Associate Head of School and Director of the Arts, Ernie Beaulieu, the Director of Upper School, Dierdre McGuire, Head of Lower and Middle Schools, and guest speaker Kyle Fitzpatrick (Chase ‘06) met them to begin the ceremony which was live streamed by PowerStation Events to include all graduating seniors and community members not in attendance.  

Mrs. Zembruski began by welcoming everyone with these remarks: “Though we may be apart, we are always close at heart.” This familiar phrase, along with, “Home is where the heart is” and “My home away from home” embody the sentiment overarchingly embraced by our community when speaking of and reminiscing about their time on this campus. “This has been a home to you where empathy is nurtured and valued. It is the gift that keeps on giving, that you can and should take with you on life’s journey, wherever it may lead, and be truly present in every home you create.”

Mr. Fitzpatrick, co-founder of The Feel Good Lab, a UConn-backed healthcare startup, spoke to the Class of 2020 about how the times we are in create opportunities to explore and tap into the entrepreneurial spirit that each of us have within us. Ernie Beaulieu and Dierdre McGuire followed Mr. Fitzpatrick with awards and recognitions.

Chase Collegiate seniors (listed left to right) Nathaniel Zembruski of Naugatuck (recipient of the Cheryl S. Gusenburg ’97 Award and the Sandbox Award), Ritesh Vidhun of Southbury (recipient of the Nelson James Welton Award), Evan Harte of Cheshire (recipient of the Sandbox Award), Jillian Knies of Oxford, Adam Retallick of Watertown, Ethan Puc of Naugatuck (recipient of the Alberta C. Edell Head of School Award), Emma Denihan of Waterbury (recipient of the Shawn Anton Walsh ’67 Award), Christopher Ficeto of Wolcott (recipient of the Highest Scholastic Achievement Award and the Eliza Kimball Brooks ’42 award), Margaret McGuire of New Milford (recipient of the Edna Rush Crane ’33 Alumnae Award and the Sandbox Award), Isabella Kopecky of Waterbury (recipient of the Sandbox Award) and Jamal Clarke of Waterbury stand on the steps of St. Margaret’s Hall as they graduate in a socially distanced ceremony. Photo by Derek Ward.